Book Review: I’ll give you the sun

Author: Jandy Nelson
Publication Date: 9/16/2014
Publisher: Penguin young readers group
Genre: Fiction/ Young Adult

(Below may contain spoilers)

Review: Excerpt from I’ll Give You The Sun

“It’s astounding,” he says, which cracks us both up. “Except most of the time,” he adds, “I feel like I’m undercover.”
“Me too.” I pick up a stick, start digging with it. “Or maybe a person is just made up of a lot of people,” I say. “Maybe we’re accumulating these new selves all the time.” Hauling them in as we make choices, good and bad, as we screw up, step up, lose our minds, find our minds, fall apart, fall in love, as we grieve, grow, retreat from the world, dive into the world, as we make things, as we break things.

End Excerpt

If the passage above from Jandy Nelson’s unbelievable master piece doesn’t have you wanting to pick up her book and read it today then I don’t know how else to explain the absolute beauty of this novel.

It’s about a pair of twins (Noah and Jude) going through the motions of life. They experience love and heartache all while losing and finding themselves in the process.They learn that sometimes things are not at all black and white that it’s not just one or the other sometimes there’s an in between.  Being in my twenties and having gone through the absolute horror I call my teen years Jandy Nelson had me reliving every single love, heartache and passion I ever remember having in my teens.An I have to say the experience was soul crushingly wonderful. I fell in love with Noah and Jude’s bond. I cried when they cried, I laughed when they laughed and I found my self wanting to give up “the stars, ocean, tees, everything” just to put all the wrongs right in Noah and Jude’s life.

However if that were possible than Jandy Nelson wouldn’t have been able to write this amazingly talented work of art and I wouldn’t be here writing about it! Ah well 🙂 All in all I recommend this book to every one! Of course if you’re a sap like me there’s no way you won’t like it!

Source: Public Library

Leave a Reply

