Book Review: You Before Anyone Else

Author: Julie Cross, Mark Perini
Publication Date: Expected date 8/2/16
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Genre: Teens and YA
Source: I requested and received this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review: Okay just where do I start?! How about with the fact that I am so grateful that I was accepted to review this beautiful piece of art. You Before Anyone Else is an amazing love story. Why? Because it’s so much more than your typical YA novel. It’s not about a young girl conquering the evils of the world or defeating mass oppression while falling in love.

No, instead this book was about a young girl named Finley who has had a hard life and has dreams that she’s too scared to grab on to. It’s about a young man named Eddie who wants to leave his controlling wealthy family behind and take responsibilities for his actions instead of letting his father’s money do it for him.

Due to her mother’s passing and her father ending up disabled Finley had to be more of a mother than a sister to her siblings. This fact alone kept her from doing the one thing she wanted and that was to dance as a Ballerina. Eddie finds the family he’s been missing through Finley and latches on to that with all his might. Eddie and Finley meet at a party and what was supposed to be a one night stand ends up being a relationship that means so much more to these young adults.

If you’re looking for a romance that will sweep you off your feet You Before Anyone Else is the book for you. I don’t say this often but the moment Eddie, the male lead, met Finley I knew that I had just fallen in love. Their romance took me back to my high school days and had me thinking about the days of fearless love that I so eagerly thirsted for. Totally worth the read! I suggest every one of you keep a look out for this gem because you don’t want to miss it. I promise!

I’m giving this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

